Hiawatha Academies Board of Directors is tasked with ensuring that the mission and values of the Hiawatha schools are met, and providing guidance to ensure Hiawatha’s long-term growth and vitality. The Board of Directors works closely with the Leadership Team to chart a course for Hiawatha Academies and meets regularly throughout the year. Our Board members are drawn from the fields of business, education, healthcare, legal, and philanthropy and share a commitment to grow Hiawatha scholars into leaders.

Board Members can be reached at: boardchair@hiawathaacademies.org

Upcoming Meetings

Board of Directors Meeting Agendas and Minutes

The Board Chair has determined that, due to the ongoing COVID-19 health pandemic and the Executive Orders of the Governor to stay at home, an in-person meeting is not prudent, and that attendance of anybody at the regular meeting location is not prudent.  Therefore, in accordance with Minn. Stat. 13D.021, this meeting will be conducted by telephone conference.

English conference line: 1-646-558-8656
Meeting ID:
864-867-4927 | Password: 760347
Spanish conference line: 1-312-626-6799
Meeting ID:
884-812-9004 | Password: 556651

**The Board of Directors is committed to receiving public comments during the COVID-19 pandemic and the corresponding suspension of in-person public Board of Directors meetings. As part of this effort, the Board is inviting interested members of the public to submit written comments to the following email address 48 hours in advance of each meeting (hello@hiawathaacademies.org). Subject to the requirements that commenters exercise proper decorum and respect for individual student/employee privacy, the Board of Directors will assemble the written comments and make them available for review by the public via a link that will be placed on the website.**


Board Members

Chair | Margarita Dimas Cultu
Her Next Play

Vice Chair | Gerardo Alcazar
Blackwell Burke

Director | Jamil Salaam
Hiawatha Academies Parent

Director | Jonathan Alvarez
Hiawatha Academies Parent

Director | Jason Brandenborg
The Brandenborg Foundation

Treasurer | Jon Schwartz
College Possible

Director | Chels Elsberry
Hiawatha Academies Teacher

Director | Roberto Lazo
Hiawatha Academies Teacher

Secretary | Penny Leporte
General Mills

Director | Alicia Muñoz
Macalester College

Director | Jennifer Stern
Great Minnesota Schools

Director | Robbie Soskin
Yum! Kitchen and Bakery

Director | Pam Langseth
Social Venture Partners (Retired)

Board Committees

Executive Committee
Margarita Dimas Cultu
Gerardo Alcazar
Penny Leporte
Jon Schwartz

Family and Community Engagement
Roberto Lazo
Jonathan Alvarez
Alicia Muñoz

Jason Brandenborg
Penny Leporte

Gerardo Alcazar
Jen Stern
Margarita Dimas Cultu

Finance & Facilities
Jon Schwartz
Jason Brandenborg
Tyler Baier
Robbie Soskin